Independent guide
Plug-in solar, clearly explained.
State laws, costs, savings and setup for plug-in and balcony solar in the United States, with dedicated guides for English speakers in Germany. Cited sources, dated updates, nothing to sell.
- Independent, not a shop
- Every claim has a source
- Updated November 2026
- 10 states with a law in effect
- 1 bills pending
- 1,920 W typical device limit
- 43 guides
Start here
The questions that matter, in the right order.
Balcony Solar Mounting Brackets and Hooks: Types, Loads, Rules
Balcony solar brackets and hooks clamp to railings of about 2 to 3 inches, hang panels flat or tilted, and must resist wind. Types, fit, loads and permissions.
Lidl Plug-In Solar Panels: What's on Sale and What to Check
Lidl backed plug-in solar in the UK in 2026, but no Lidl kit was on sale in Great Britain on 3 November 2026. What Lidl has said and what a UK kit must meet.
Plug-In Solar Laws by State: Where Balcony Solar Is Legal in 2026
Ten states have signed plug-in solar laws as of November 2026, from Utah to New Jersey, and New York awaits a signature. Caps, dates and what still applies.
Best Plug-In Solar Panels UK: How to Choose the Right Kit
The best plug-in solar kit for a UK home is a compliant 800 W kit that fits your spot. Eight criteria, October 2026 prices and the mistakes to avoid.
How plug-in solar works
Four steps from sunlight to a lower electricity bill.
-
Sun hits the panels
The panels produce direct current, even under clouds, just much less of it.
-
The microinverter converts
It turns that into 120-volt alternating current and shuts off instantly if the grid goes down.
-
The outlet feeds your circuits
Power flows through the plug into your home wiring and runs whatever is on first.
-
Your meter slows down
What you use yourself, you no longer buy. Any surplus goes to the grid.
Rules at a glance
How plug-in solar is regulated across the markets we cover.
| Status | United States | United Kingdom | Germany |
|---|---|---|---|
| Max. inverter output | varies by state | 800 W | 800 W |
| Max. panel capacity | varies by state | 2,000 Wp | 2,000 Wp |
| Registration | varies | with the grid operator | national registry |
| Deadline | varies | varies | within one month of commissioning |
| Plug type | varies | standard household plug allowed | household plug or dedicated socket |
| Meter running backwards | varies | not allowed | tolerated temporarily |
| Sales tax | not specified | not specified | 0% on purchase and installation |
| Tenants and condo owners | varies | consent required | right to approval |
| Status | Verification pending | Verification pending | Verification pending |
- United States: Regulated state by state. Utah created the first plug-in solar category in 2025; several states followed with limits around 1,200 W.
- United Kingdom: Legal in England, Scotland and Wales since 27 August 2026 (SI 2026/848): up to 800 W output and 2,000 W of panels, a moulded 13 A plug, no battery, a product listed on the ENA Type Test Register, one device per household under G98, and a notification to your DNO. Northern Ireland is not covered yet.
- Germany: Since Solarpaket I (May 2024) only the Marktstammdatenregister entry is required. Under the DIN VDE V 0126-95 product standard (since December 2025) a household Schuko plug is intended only with extra protection and up to 960 Wp of modules; above that a dedicated feed-in plug is needed.
Topics
How we work
Read morePrimary sources
Laws, regulators and utilities, not hearsay. Every figure carries its source.
Verified and dated
Every guide shows when it was last checked. Rules change, and we keep up.
Nothing to sell
Voltgeber sells nothing and takes no commissions from retailers.
Recently updated
1200W Plug-In Solar: What the 1,200 W Limit Means for Your Kit
Most US plug-in solar laws cap a kit at 1,200 W of output, 10 amps on a 120 V outlet. What the limit measures, which states use it and what a 1200W kit yields.
£400 Plug-In Solar Kits: What You Get for the Money in the UK
The £400 plug-in solar panel is the headline price from the 2026 launch. In November 2026, £400 buys a compliant single-panel kit; what it includes and saves.
Anker Balcony Solar: Specs, US Availability and What to Check
Anker balcony solar systems are sold in Europe for 230 V grids. As of November 2026, Anker's US store lists no plug-in kit, only power stations.
Balcony Solar in Canada: Provincial Rules and Status in 2026
Balcony solar in Canada has no simplified pathway as of November 2026. Ontario's ESA rejects kits on regular outlets; a Canada-US standard is coming.
Balcony Solar in Florida: What the Law Allows in 2026
Florida has no plug-in solar law as of November 2026. How the PSC's Tier 1 rule, condo railing exception and net metering apply to a balcony kit.
Balcony Solar in Germany 2026: Balkonkraftwerk Rules in English
Germany's Balkonkraftwerk rules in English: the 800 W limit, one online registration, meters, Schuko plugs, zero VAT and a tenant's right to install one.